• Government of Meghalaya

The Meghalaya Lokayukta Act 2014, passed by the Meghalaya Legislative Assembly, received the assent of the Governor on 26th march 2014. It was published in the Meghalaya Gazette on 27th March 2014. It is an Act to provide for the establishment of a body of Lokayukta for the State of Meghalaya to inquire into allegations of corruption against certain public functionaries and for matters connected therein or incidental thereon.

The Governor of Meghalaya, in exercise of the powers conferred by sub- section (1) of Section 3 of the Meghalaya Lokayukta Act, 2014, by a Notification dated 15th May 2019 constituted a body to be known as the Meghalaya Lokayukta to exercise the powers conferred upon, and to perform the functions assigned to Lokayukta under Chapter VII and Chapter VIII of the said Act, consisting of a Chairperson and Members, and to specify further that the Headquarter of the said Lokayukta shall be at Shillong.

The first Chairperson of the Meghalaya Lokayukta, Hon’ble P.K.Mushahary, Retd.Judge Guwahati High court, assumed office on the 6th of November, 2018.